Originally designed as a Methodist Church called the Church of the Pilgrims, the Saki restaurant building is one of the oldest reclaimed establishments in Provincetown, dating back more than 150 years. The Church, built in 1843, was the fourth Congregational Church to open its doors in Provincetown.
As a symbol of support and continuity the Church of the Pilgrims was built out of wood from its predecessor, the White Oak Congressional House. The same symbolic wood, pulled out of the Church’s original floors and support beams now completes the elegant, antique look of the Saki dining room, residing in the bar top and in the dining tables.
The Euro Island Grill Café and Night Club occupied the space for 18 years before Saki was established in 2009.
The original church architecture survived the whims of business owners over the years and it now bestows a refined air over the dining room, with its high ceiling and tall windows. The Church of the Pilgrims’ legacy lives on through the ghost of its last pastor, Reverend John Ladd Sewall, who was sighted several times walking the large rooms of his old church, in a tail coat and top hat.
In addition to the original eclectic Asian menu, the century-and-a-half history, and the ghost from The Church of the Pilgrims’ legacy reverend, Saki offer much more than a fine dining experience.